Accueil Imprimer Annuaire Plan du site Crédits Fil RSS du site Twitter Plans d'accès Contacts Annuaire Webmail Intranet Logo

Accueil > Séminaires et conférences > Séminaires, soutenances de thèses et HDR précédents > 2017 > Soutenances de thèses et HDR 2017 > Le jeudi 7 décembre 2017 à 10h00

Le jeudi 7 décembre 2017 à 10h00

Nikita Lepikhin’s PhD defense "Fast energy relaxation in the afterglow of a nanosecond capillary discharge in nitrogen/oxygen mixtures" will take place on 7th of December 2017 in Ecole Polytechnique, Amphi GREGORY at 10:00am

Abstract :
Nanosecond discharges are widely used as a source of non-thermal plasma in a variety of applications : plasma medicine, plasma flow control, plasma assisted ignition and combustion. High reduced electric field in the nanosecond discharges provides efficient excitation of the electronic states of atoms or molecules. At relatively low specific deposited energy the excited species mostly interact with background gas. The "classical" plasma kinetics is developed mainly on this assumption. Increasing of the specific energy deposited during nanosecond discharge leads to increase of the probability of interaction of excited and charged species between each other, which changes the plasma kinetics dramatically. The main aim of the present work was to investigate, how plasma kinetics changes at the conditions of high specific energy deposition at high reduced electric fields. The nanosecond capillary discharge was used as an experimental tool. The measurements were performed for pure nitrogen and nitrogen:oxygen mixtures.

Tutelles : CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris Sud Observatoire de Paris Convention : CEA
©2009-2019 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Mentions légales
Exploitant du site : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Hébergeur : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Directeur de la publication : Pascal Chabert (Directeur)