Home Print this page Phone directory Site Map Credits RSS feed Twitter Maps Contact us Phone directory Webmail Intranet Logo

Home > Research > Space Plasmas > Space missions > Cassini (1997-2017) > Mission description

Mission description

First contact

The first in situ observations of Saturn’s environment and moons were made by Pioneer 11. It was in the late 70s, the probe flew past Saturn. These observations led to the first detection of the intrinsic magnetic field of Saturn.

Thereafter, flybys of Saturn were performed by the Voyager 1 and 2 probes. This gave more information about the magnetic field of the planet. As for Earth, it is assumed to be dipolar. Moreover, its dipole moment is aligned with the planet axis of rotation. However, the intensity is stronger than the geomagnetic field.

JPEG - 188.5 kb
Figure 1. Schematic of Saturn magnetosphere
Source : NASA

Pioneer 11 and Voyager 1 and 2 have also revealed the existence of Saturn’s magnetosphere, the region surrounding the planet in which the intrinsic field dominates. These missions have revealed the existence of auroras on Saturn, similar to those on Earth.

The many moons of Saturn were observed by the Pioneer 11 and Voyager missions, and also from Earth. These analyses revealed the existence of coupling between the magnetosphere of Saturn and its moons. Titan is the largest moon, orbiting at about 20 Saturnian radii of the planet. During their passage near Titan Voyager probes were able to detect the atmosphere of Titan, which reveled to be rich in nitrogen and methane. However, no intrinsic magnetic field was detected for Titan.

The conquest of a world

JPEG - 13.9 kb
Figure 2. Artistic view of Cassini probe orbiting around Saturn
Source NASA

The Voyager and Pioneer 11 missions provided important results on Saturn, Titan and their environment. They also aroused the curiosity of scientists. Note that these missions were designed to observe the outer solar system. They each have only made one flyby of Saturn. To answer the many questions about the " Saturnian world ", the need for a dedicated mission manifested. The answer to this need was the Cassini-Huygens mission.

Cassini-Huygens is the product of collaboration between Italian, American and European space agencies (NASA, ESA and ASI). The mission was launched in 1997 with the objective to study Saturn and Titan. It was then the most ambitious planetary mission. The various themes of the mission involve different branches of astronomy and astrophysics. The major questions to answer concern the energy source of Saturn, the ring structure of Saturn’s moons, Titan in particular. They also deal with the topic of the interactions between the interplanetary medium, Saturn and its moons.

And what about plasmas ?

A complete analysis of Saturn’s magnetosphere was part of the scientific objectives of the mission, which thus includes experiments dedicated to the measurement of plasma. Cassini-Huygens aims to lighten the space plasma physicists on the following points:

  • The overall configuration of the magnetosphere.
  • The dynamics and the source of Saturn’s magnetospheric plasma.
  • The phenomena of magnetospheric substorms, to which the auroras are related.
  • The interaction of Saturn’s magnetosphere with its ionized atmosphere called the ionosphere.
  • The interaction of the magnetosphere with the satellites (Titan in particular) and the rings of Saturn.

To each probe its mission

The mission consists of two separate probes: Cassini and Huygens. Both were launched simultaneously in 1997. They separated a few months after their arrival in the Saturnian environment in 2004.

The role of Cassini is to analyze Saturn, its moons and its environment. The Cassini spacecraft is orbiting Saturn and its moons. Thanks to Titan gravity assist, orbital trajectory of Cassini is regularly changed. This made it possible to explore all the key areas of the magnetosphere. The mission has been extended, in a phase called “grand finale”, from April to September 2017, which comprised twenty two orbits around Saturn, getting closer and closer, crossing the rings and finally being desintegrated in its atmosphere on September 15.

The Huygens probe is dedicated to the study of Titan. One year after separation, Huygens satellite has entered the atmosphere of Titan. It was then able to reach the surface. In this way, analysis of the atmosphere and surface were performed.
NASA: http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/

ESA: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Cassini-Huygens

LESIA: http://www.lesia.obspm.fr/plasma/cassini/cassini.html


transparent
CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris-Saclay Observatoire de Paris
transparent
©2009-2022 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Legal notices
Website operator: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Website host: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Managing editor: Dominique Fontaine (Director)

Accueil Imprimer Annuaire Plan du site Crédits Fil RSS du site Twitter Plans d'accès Contacts Annuaire Webmail Intranet Logo

Accueil > Recherche > Plasmas Spatiaux > Missions spatiales > Cassini (1997-2017) > Description de la mission

Description de la mission

Premier contact

Les premières observations in situ de l’environnement et des lunes de Saturne ont été effectuées par Pioneer 11. C’était à la fin des années 70, la sonde a effectué un survol de Saturne. Ces observations sont à l’origine de la première détection du champ magnétique intrinsèque de Saturne.

Par la suite, les sondes Voyager 1 et 2 ont également survolé Saturne. Ceci a apporté des précisions sur le champ magnétique de la planète. Comme celui de la Terre, il est supposé dipolaire. Son moment dipolaire est de plus aligné avec l’axe de rotation de la planète. Cependant son intensité est plus forte que celle du champ magnétique terrestre.

JPEG - 188.5 ko
Figure 1. Représentation de la magnétosphère de Saturne
Source : NASA

Pioneer 11 et Voyager 1 et 2 ont également révélé l’existence de la magnétosphère de Saturne. La magnétosphère est la région englobant la planète dans laquelle le champ intrinsèque de la planète domine. Ces missions ont mis en évidence l’existence sur Saturne des aurores polaires observées sur Terre. Les aurores sont l’une des manifestations de l’activité magnétosphérique.

Les nombreux satellites naturels de Saturne ont été observés par les missions Pioneer 11 et Voyager, et aussi depuis la Terre. Ces analyses ont mis en évidence l’existence de couplages entre la magnétosphère de Saturne et ses lunes. Titan est le plus gros satellite de Saturne, Les nombreux satellites naturels de Saturne ont été observés par les missions Pioneer 11 et Voyager, et aussi depuis la Terre. Il se trouve alors dans sa magnétosphère. Lors de leurs passages à proximité de Titan les sondes Voyager on pu détecter l’atmosphère de Titan. Celle-ci est riche en azote et en méthane. En revanche, aucun champ magnétique intrinsèque n’a été détecté pour Titan.

A la conquête d’un monde

JPEG - 13.9 ko
Figure 2. Vue d’artiste de la sonde Cassini en orbite autour de Saturne
Source NASA

Les missions Pioneer 11 et Voyager ont fourni des résultats importants concernant Saturne, Titan et leur environnement. Elles ont aussi éveillé la curiosité des scientifiques. Notons que ces missions étaient destinées à observer le système solaire externe. Elles n’ont effectué chacune qu’un survol de la Saturne. Pour répondre aux nombreuses questions sur le « monde Saturnien » le besoin d’une mission dédiée s’est manifesté. La réponse à ce besoin fut la mission Cassini-Huygens.

Cassini-Huygens est le produit d’une collaboration entre les agences spatiales américaine, européenne et italienne (NASA, ESA et ASI). La mission fut lancée en 1997 avec pour objectif l’étude de Saturne et de Titan. Elle était à l’époque la mission de planétologie la plus ambitieuse. Les thèmes abordés faisaient intervenir différentes branches de l’astronomie et de l’astrophysique. Les grandes questions étudiées concernent la source d’énergie de Saturne, la structure des anneaux de la planète et les lunes de Saturne, Titan en particulier. Elles traitent également le sujet des interactions entre le milieu interplanétaire, Saturne et ses lunes

Et les plasmas ?

Une analyse complète de la magnétosphère de Saturne faisait partie des objectifs scientifiques de la mission qui comprend des expériences dédiées à la mesure des plasmas. Cassini-Huygens doit éclairer les physiciens des plasmas spatiaux sur les points suivants :

  • La configuration globale de la magnétosphère.
  • La dynamique et la source du plasma magnétosphérique de Saturne.
  • Les phénomènes de sous-orages magnétosphériques, phénomènes auxquels aurores polaires sont liés.
  • L’interaction de la magnétosphère de Saturne avec son atmosphère ionisée, appelée ionosphère.
  • L’interaction de la magnétosphère avec les satellites (Titan en particulier) et les anneaux de Saturne.

A chaque sonde sa mission

La mission comprend deux sondes distinctes : la sonde Cassini et la sonde Huygens. Les deux sondes ont été lancées par un unique lanceur. Elles se sont séparées quelques mois après leur arrivée dans l’environnement saturnien en 2004.

Le rôle de l’orbiteur Cassini est d’analyser Saturne, ses lunes et son environnement. La sonde Cassini est en orbite autour de Saturne et de ses lunes. Grâce à l’assistance gravitationnelle de Titan, la trajectoire orbitale de Cassini a été régulièrement modifiée. Ceci a rendu possible l’exploration de toutes les zones clés de la magnétosphère. La mission a été prolongée, effectuant entre Avril et Septembre 2017 vingt-deux orbites autour de la planète géante pour s’en rapprocher, traverser ses anneaux et se désintégrer dans son atmosphère le 15 Septembre 2017. Cette phase de la mission a été appelée "grand finale".

La sonde Huygens était dédiée à l’étude de Titan. Un an après la séparation, elle est entrée dans l’atmosphère de Titan et a ensuite pu atteindre sa surface. De cette manière, des analyses de l’atmosphère et de la surface ont été effectuées.

NASA : http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/

ESA : http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Cassini-Huygens

LESIA : http://www.lesia.obspm.fr/plasma/cassini/cassini.html


transparent
Tutelles : CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris Sud Observatoire de Paris Convention : CEA
transparent
©2009-2019 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Mentions légales
Exploitant du site : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Hébergeur : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Directeur de la publication : Pascal Chabert (Directeur)