Home Print this page Phone directory Site Map Credits RSS feed Twitter Maps Contact us Phone directory Webmail Intranet Logo

Home > Research > Space Plasmas > Space missions > Bepi Colombo (2018) > Description of the mission

Description of the mission

Our knowledge about Mercury

The environment of Mercury has been the object of only two exploratory in situ missions. All we know of the ionized environment of the planet comes from the results collected during these missions. The first one was Mariner 10. It was launched in the early 70s and made three flybys of Mercury. The second mission, MESSENGER is still ongoing. The MESSENGER probe made three flybys of the planet and was put into orbit in March 2011.

JPEG - 5.5 kb
Mercure seen by MESSENGER (NASA)

Mariner 10 led to the discovery of the intrinsic magnetic field of Mercury. Observations have shown that it is strong enough to repel the plasma from the Sun (solar wind) at some distance from the planet. The area around Mercury, dominated by its internal magnetic field (magnetosphere) has also been explored. According to these observations, the spatial and temporal scales of Mercury’s magnetosphere are small compared to those of the Earth’s magnetosphere. Mariner 10 has also made possible the first observations of the thin atmosphere of the planet (exosphere). Finally, it has provided many images of the surface of the planet.

The MESSENGER mission has confirmed many of the observations made by Mariner 10. It provided a significant number of additional information on the Mercury environment. The characteristics of the intrinsic magnetic field have been refined through the measurements made during overflights of the planet. Furthermore, magnetospheric ions were detected for the first time.

These in situ observations combine with those of the surface and the exosphere made from Earth. This combination provides a better understanding of processes linking the magnetosphere and exosphere of Mercury’s surface. However, Mariner 10 and MESSENGER leave many questions open.

Deepen our knowledge with Bepi Colombo

The Bepi Colombo mission is the result of a close collaboration between ESA (European Space Agency) and JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency). It offers a more complete instrumentation than MESSENGER and an innovative flight plan. Both will offer the scientific community many elements to improve the understanding of the planet and its environment. The investigations concern in particular the interaction between Mercury and the solar wind.

The main objectives of the mission Bepi Colombo are the following:

  • Understanding the origin and evolution of a planet very close to its star.
  • Understanding of the origin and structure of the intrinsic magnetic field of Mercury.
  • Study of the shape of the interior structure, geology and composition of the planet.
  • Study of the composition and dynamics of the exosphere of Mercury.
  • Study of the structure and dynamics of the magnetosphere of Mercury.
  • Determination of the composition and origin of the deposits observed at the poles.
  • Tests of Einstein’s theory of relativity.
JPEG - 56.5 kb
Orbits of the two Bepi Colombo orbiters around Mercury (ESA )

A double mission

The mission consists in two separate probes. The MPO probe (Mercury Planetary Orbiter) is carried out by ESA. The MMO probe (Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter) is performed by JAXA. Both spacecraft will not have the same functions but complementary goals. The main role of MPO is to study the solid planet. MMO is dedicated to studies of the magnetosphere of Mercury and of its interplanetary environment.

These two probes will be launched in 2018 by a single launcher. They will be separated at the time of their polar orbit in 2024. MPO will have an elliptical orbit with a periapsis 400km and 1500km apoastre to the surface (radius of Mercury: 2440km). MMO will have a more elliptical orbit with a periapsis also located 400km and apoastre to 12,000 km altitude.


transparent
CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris-Saclay Observatoire de Paris
transparent
©2009-2022 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Legal notices
Website operator: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Website host: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Managing editor: Dominique Fontaine (Director)

Accueil Imprimer Annuaire Plan du site Crédits Fil RSS du site Twitter Plans d'accès Contacts Annuaire Webmail Intranet Logo

Accueil > Recherche > Plasmas Spatiaux > Missions spatiales > Bepi Colombo (2018) > Description de la mission

Description de la mission

Mercure aujourd’hui

L’environnement de Mercure n’a été l’objet que de deux missions d’exploration in situ. Tout ce que nous savons de l’environnement ionisé de la planète provient des résultats collectés lors de ces missions. La première est Mariner 10. Elle a été lancée au début des années 70 et a effectué trois survols de Mercure. La seconde mission, MESSENGER, est toujours en cours. La sonde MESSENGER a effectué trois survols de la planète et a été mise en orbite en mars 2011.

JPEG - 5.5 ko
Mercure observée par MESSENGER (NASA)

Mariner 10 a permis la découverte du champ magnétique intrinsèque de Mercure. Les observations ont montré que celui-ci est suffisamment fort pour repousser le plasma du Soleil (vent solaire) à quelque distance de la planète. La région entourant Mercure, dominée par son champ magnétique interne (la magnétosphère) a d’ailleurs été explorée. Selon ces observations, les échelles spatiales et temporelles de la magnétosphère de Mercure sont petites devant celles de la magnétosphère terrestre. Mariner 10 a également rendu possibles les premières observations de l’atmosphère ténue de la planète (l’exosphère). Enfin elle a fourni de nombreuses images de la surface de la planète.

La mission MESSENGER a confirmé une grande partie des observations de Mariner 10. Elle fourni un nombre significatif d’informations supplémentaires sur l’environnement herméen. Les caractéristiques du champ magnétique intrinsèque ont été affinées grâce aux mesures faites lors des survols et des orbites de MESSENGER. De plus, les ions magnétosphériques ont été détectés pour la première fois.

Ces observations in situ s’ajoutent à celles de la surface et de l’exosphère effectuées depuis la Terre. Cette combinaison offre une meilleure compréhension des processus liant la magnétosphère, l’exosphère et la surface de Mercure. Cependant, Mariner 10 et MESSENGER laissent de nombreuses questions ouvertes.

Approfondir nos connaissances

La mission Bepi Colombo est le produit d’une étroite collaboration entre l’ESA (European Space Agency) et la JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency). Elle propose une instrumentation plus complète que celle de MESSENGER et un plan de vol innovant. Tous deux offriront à la communauté scientifique des éléments pour améliorer la compréhension de la planète et de son environnement. Les investigations concernent en particulier l’interaction Mercure/vent solaire.

Les principaux objectifs de la mission Bepi Colombo peuvent être résumés ainsi :

  • Compréhension de l’origine et de l’évolution d’une planète très proche de son étoile.
  • Compréhension de l’origine et de la structure du champ magnétique intrinsèque de Mercure.
  • Etude de la forme, de la structure intérieure, de la géologie et de la composition de la planète.
  • Etude de la composition et de la dynamique de l’exosphère de Mercure.
  • Etude de la structure et de la dynamique de la magnétosphère de Mercure.
  • Détermination de la composition et de l’origine des dépôts observés aux pôles.
  • Tests de la théorie de la relativité d’Einstein.
JPEG - 56.5 ko
Représentation des deux orbiteurs de Bepi Colombo autour de Mercure (ESA)

Une mission double

La mission comprend deux sondes distinctes. La sonde MPO (Mercury Planetary Orbiter) est réalisée par l’ESA. La sonde MMO (Mercury Magnetospheric Orbiter) est réalisée par la JAXA. Ces deux engins spatiaux n’ont pas les mêmes fonctions mais des objectifs complémentaires. Le rôle principal de MPO est d’étudier la planète solide. MMO est dédié aux études de la magnétosphère de Mercure et de l’environnement interplanétaire.

Ces deux sondes seront lancées en 2018 par un unique lanceur. Elles ne se sépareront qu’au moment de leur mise en orbite polaire en 2024. MPO effectuera une orbite elliptique, avec un périastre à 400km et un apoastre à 1500km de la surface (rayon de Mercure : 2440km). MMO aura une orbite plus elliptique avec un périastre également situé à 400km et un apoastre à 12000km d’altitude.


transparent
Tutelles : CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris Sud Observatoire de Paris Convention : CEA
transparent
©2009-2019 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Mentions légales
Exploitant du site : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Hébergeur : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Directeur de la publication : Pascal Chabert (Directeur)