Home Print this page Phone directory Site Map Credits RSS feed Twitter Maps Contact us Phone directory Webmail Intranet Logo

Home > Research > Space Plasmas > Space missions > Cluster (2000) > Mission description

Mission description

From the Sun to the Earth

Our Sun constantly ejects a plasma, called solar wind, in the interplanetary medium. The solar wind is a natural laboratory for plasma physics. It is accessible to scientists by in situ measurements using space missions.

JPEG - 15.8 kb
Figure 1. The Sun-Earth connection and the Earth magnetosphere
Source ESA

The encounter of the solar wind with the Earth’s magnetic field creates a magnetic shield which is called the planet’s magnetopause, separating the Solar Wind from the Earth’s magnetosphere. Within the latter, many physical processes occur. Some of them have observable effects from ground: northern and southern aurorae. They sometimes have consequences on human activity: e.g. disturbances in power grids and telecommunication networks.

Cluster has been designed to investigate the Earth’s magnetosphere in three dimensions, in particular the interfaces between two different plasmas, as the one between the Solar Wind and the magnetosphere. It therefore consists of an array of four identical spacecraft *. The Cluster mission is associated with the SOHO mission dedicated to the observation of the Sun. These two missions form the Solar-Terrestrial Science Program (STSP) of the European Space Agency (ESA).

A failure followed by a rebirth
The Cluster mission launch was scheduled for June 4, 1996 with the first Ariane 5 launch launch which failed. Ariane 5 had to be destroyed within seconds after launch. The on board Cluster instrumentation was also destroyed.

ESA decided to re-build alike Cluster spacecraft and instrumentation . The probes of the new mission Cluster II have been launched in July and August 2000 by two Russian Soyuz and Moliniya rockets. Given the harvest of positive results since 2000 by the Cluster mission, it is extended until December 2018.

Visit the key regions
The four Cluster satellites are exploring the Earth’s magnetosphere and the Solar Wind near the Earth, and in particular the key regions of the interaction of both regions:

  • The solar wind in the neighborhood of the Earth,
  • The bow shock
  • The magnetopause
  • The polar cusps
  • The magnetotail

The satellites have a polar elliptical orbit aroun Earth. The altitude of perigee and apogee are resopectively at 19000km and 119000km of altitude (Earth radius: 6371km). This allows the crossing of all these regions. The main objective of the mission is to study the physical processes occuring in these regions.

JPEG - 34.2 kb
Figure 2. Artist view of Cluster
Source ESA

Get rid of ambiguities
When a satellite measures a physical quantity that fluctuates two cases arise. These fluctuations may be caused by satellite motion in a stationary environment. They are called spatial variations. These fluctuations may instead reflect a change over time. In this case these are temporal variations.

The Cluster mission presents an innovative structure formed of four identical satellites. This allows the differentiation in the observations between spatial and temporal variations. It is important in the case of a non-stationary environment as Earth’s magnetosphere. By this, Cluster is very different from all previous space plasma missions.

3D measurements

The analysis of three-dimensional properties of the plasma and the magnetic field is the implicit motivation of the mission. The four Cluster spacecraft have exactly the same instrumentation. Thanks to their flying in tetrahedral formation a 3D analysis is possible *. They measure a physical quantity at the same time at the four corners of the tetrahedron.

Therefore, Cluster was the first space mission to estimate locally the electric current density in the plasma. The current is determined across the tetrahedron from the measurement of the magnetic field at four points. Another originality of the mission was to assess the possibility of calculating plasma density gradients.

* With three points one defines a plane. Four points are necessary to describe the three dimensions. The four identical Cluster satellites were put in a tetrahedric formation in the key region of their orbit during the first years of the mission. They can perform the same measurement simultaneously at four different points. This helps to determine the three dimensional structure of ameasured variable.

To know more about the tools that have been developed for 3D studies:
Paschmann G. et Daly, W., Analysis methods for multispacraft data, ISSI Scientific report, 1998.

Paschmann G. et Daly, W., Analysis methods for multispacraft data revisited, ISSI Scientific report, 2008.


transparent
Tutelles : CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris Sud Observatoire de Paris Convention : CEA
transparent
©2009-2019 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Legal notices
Website operator: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Website host: Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Managing editor: Pascal Chabert (Director)

Accueil Imprimer Annuaire Plan du site Crédits Fil RSS du site Twitter Plans d'accès Contacts Annuaire Webmail Intranet Logo

Accueil > Recherche > Plasmas Spatiaux > Missions spatiales > Cluster (2000) > Description de la mission

Description de la mission

Du Soleil à la Terre

Notre Soleil éjecte constamment du plasma, appelé vent solaire, dans le milieu interplanétaire. Le vent solaire représente un laboratoire naturel de physique des plasmas. Il est accessible aux scientifiques par les mesures in situ effectuées lors des missions d’observation.

JPEG - 15.8 ko
Figure 1. Représentation de la relation Soleil-Terre et de la magnétosphère terrestre.
Source ESA

La rencontre du vent solaire avec le champ magnétique terrestre se manifeste par la formation d’un bouclier magnétique autour de la planète, la magnétopause, entourant la magnétosphère. Au sein de celle-ci, de nombreux processus physiques se produisent. Certains d’entre eux ont des effets observables depuis le sol : aurores boréales et australes. Ils ont parfois des conséquences sur l’activité humaine : désordres dans les réseaux électriques et les réseaux de télécommunication.

Cluster a été conçu afin de mener une investigation en trois dimensions sur la magnétosphère terrestre et sur les régions d’interface entre deux plasmas différents, en particulier l’interface Vent Solaire-Magnétosphère. Il est donc constitué d’un réseau de quatre sondes identiques*. La mission Cluster est associée à la mission SOHO, dédiée à l’observation du Soleil. Ces deux missions forment le Solar-Terrestrial Science Program (STSP) de l’agence spatiale européenne (ESA).

Un échec puis une renaissance

Le lancement de la mission Cluster devait avoir lieu le 4 juin 1996 avec le premier tir de la fusée Ariane 5. Il s’est soldé par un échec. Ariane 5 a du être détruite quelques secondes après son lancement. L’instrumentation de Cluster embarquée à son bord fut également détruite.

L’ESA a choisi de reprendre la mission à l’identique. Les sondes de la nouvelle mission Cluster II on été lancées en Juillet et août 2000. Leur lancement s’est fait par paire avec deux fusées russes Soyuz et Moliniya. Au vu de la moisson de résultats probants fournis depuis 2000 par la mission Cluster, celle-ci a été prolongée jusqu’à décembre 2018 sous réserve d’une nouvelle revue.

Visiter les régions clés

Les quatre satellites de Cluster permettent d’explorer la magnétosphère terrestre et le vent solaire proche de la Terre. Cluster sonde les régions clés de l’interaction du vent solaire avec la magnétosphère terrestre :

  • Le vent solaire au voisinage de la Terre,
  • L’onde de choc formée par la rencontre du vent solaire supersonique super-Alfvénique avec la magnétosphère,
  • La magnétopause, frontière externe de la magnétosphère,
  • Les cornets polaires qui sont les zones de pénétration possible des particules du vent solaire dans la magnétosphère,
  • La queue de la magnétosphère.

Les satellites sont en orbite polaire et elliptique autour de la Terre. Les orbites ont un périastre situé à 19000km et un apoastre à 119000km d’altitude (rayon terrestre : 6371km). Ceci autorise des passages dans chacune des régions visées. Le principal objectif de la mission est d’étudier les processus physiques qui ont lieu dans ces régions.

JPEG - 34.2 ko
Figure 2. Vue d’artiste de la mission Cluster
Source ESA

S’affranchir des ambiguïtés

Lorsqu’un satellite mesure une grandeur physique qui fluctue deux cas se présentent. Ces fluctuations peuvent être dues au déplacement du satellite dans un milieu stationnaire. On parle alors de variations spatiales. Ces fluctuations peuvent au contraire traduire une évolution de la grandeur au cours du temps. Ce sont dans ce cas des variations temporelles.

La mission Cluster présente une structure innovante formée de quatre satellites identiques. Cette constitution autorise une différenciation dans les observations entre les variations spatiales et les variations temporelles. Ceci est important dans le cas d’un milieu non stationnaire comme la magnétosphère terrestre. Par cela, Cluster se distingue de toutes les missions spatiales qui l’ont précédée dans le cadre des recherches magnétosphériques.

Des mesures en 3D

L’analyse des propriétés tridimensionnelles du plasma et du champ magnétique est la motivation implicite de la mission. Les quatre sondes spatiales qui composent Cluster ont strictement la même instrumentation. C’est grâce à leur vol en formation tétraédrique qu’une analyse en 3D est possible*. Elles mesurent une grandeur physique en même temps aux quatre sommets du tétraèdre.

Dans cette optique, Cluster a été la première mission spatiale à pouvoir estimer localement la densité de courant électrique dans le plasma. Le courant est déterminé à l’échelle du tétraèdre à partir de la mesure du champ magnétique en quatre points. Une autre originalité de la mission est la possibilité d’évaluer les gradients de densité du plasma.

*Avec trois points on définit un plan. Seuls quatre points (bien disposés) permettent de décrire les trois dimensions. Les quatre satellites identiques de Cluster ont été mis en formation tétraédrique dans les régions clés de leur orbite, pendant les premières années de la mission. Ils peuvent effectuer la même mesure simultanément en quatre points différents. Cela permet de déterminer la structure tridimensionnelle de la grandeur mesurée.

Pour en savoir plus sur les outils développés pour ces études en 3D :
Paschmann G. et Daly, W., Analysis methods for multispacraft data, ISSI Scientific report, 1998.

Paschmann G. et Daly, W., Analysis methods for multispacraft data revisited, ISSI Scientific report, 2008.


transparent
Tutelles : CNRS Ecole Polytechnique Sorbonne Université Université Paris Sud Observatoire de Paris Convention : CEA
transparent
©2009-2019 Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas (LPP)

Mentions légales
Exploitant du site : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Hébergeur : Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Ecole Polytechnique route de Saclay F-91128 PALAISEAU CEDEX
Directeur de la publication : Pascal Chabert (Directeur)